Communication & Marketing Department

About Us

The Communications and Marketing Division (CMD) at the University of Zululand (UNIZULU) is focused on improving and developing communications and marketing initiatives  within the University that are in keeping with international standards of a comprehensive university.

The Division’s focus is geared towards:

Enhancing internal communication amongst staff, students and management with an equivalent approach in keeping stakeholders, the global and local communities as well the private, corporate and government sectors informed about the latest developments at and about the University

Being the custodians of the University’s brand and image by protecting, promoting and nurturing both internally and externally

Ensuring maximum exposure of the University’s brand.

 

Mission and Vision

Enhance and protect the University’s reputation

Advance and strengthen the UNIZULU brand

Encourage community engagement and reinforce the University’s relevance to key stakeholders such as current and prospective students, staff, alumni, donors as well as friends to the University

Gcinekile Thembile Nhleko-Mdluli
Director
035 902 6617
Email: nhlekog@unizulu.ac.za

Objectives

Develop a proactive public relations and marketing communications programme that will enhance the University’s competitive position regionally, nationally and internationally as a leading comprehensive university providing quality education.

Increase awareness about the University’s academic offerings as well as successes of students and staff Improve the University’s image and reputation.

Strengthen and promote the University’s distinctive identity Build, nurture and sustain positive relationships among local, regional and national media Position UNIZULU staff as experts for use in the media as well as public sphere.

Enhance internal and external communications with UNIZULU stakeholders.

Improve and nurture a sense of loyalty, commitment and involvement among staff, students and alumni of the University.

Promote and increase public awareness about UNIZULU’s activities and achievements.

Relay important messages to all staff and students at UNIZULU.

Our Services

Marketing of the University

Communication with internal and external stakeholders in support of the University’s endeavours of becoming a leading university of choice

Media liaison

Stakeholder relationship management

Create and manage a comprehensive and integrated strategic marketing and communications programme for the University.

Schools liaison

Events management

To enhance its position as a comprehensive university providing quality education, UNIZULU needs to present, to the public, a clear, united and immediately recognisable brand and image. To communicate this solidarity, it is essential that the university community understands the significance of its role in building the University’s brand.

Meet the Team

Phindile Sandi

Phindile Sandi

Secretary
035 902 6668
sandip@unizulu.ac.za

Siyanda Mntambo

Siyanda Mntambo

Communications and Marketing Manager
035 902 6665
MntamboS@unizulu.ac.za

Vacant

Vacant

Events Coordinator
035 902
@unizulu.ac.za

Nompilo Dlamini

Nompilo Dlamini

Public Relations Officer
035 902 6313
dlaminint@unizulu.ac.za

Precious Shamase

Precious Shamase

Communications Officer
035 902 6628
shamasep@unizulu.ac.za

Naledi Hlefane

Naledi Hlefane

Publications Officer
035 902 6492
HlefaneN@unizulu.ac.za

 Sphamandla Gumede

Sphamandla Gumede

PR Assistant
035 902 6619
gumedes@unizulu.ac.za

Veronica Botha

Veronica Botha

Graphic Designer
035 902 6641
bothav@unizulu.ac.za

Camille Greyling

Camille Greyling

Graphic Designer
035 902 6726
greylingc@unizulu.ac.za

Mmeli D. Gwebu

Mmeli D. Gwebu

Acting Webmaster
035 902 6283
gwebum@unizulu.ac.za

Bathokozile Mbhele

Bathokozile Mbhele

Assistant Webmaster
035 902 6667
mbheleb@unizulu.ac.za

Samkele Sokhela

Samkele Sokhela

Multimedia Journalist
035 902
sokhelas@unizulu.ac.za

James Thwala

James Thwala

Multimedia Journalist
035 902
thwalam@unizulu.ac.za

A Node For African Thought

Copyright © 2021 University of Zululand All Rights Reserved

Phezulu
SAcoronavirus.co.za

For more information on COVID-19 and government regulation: Click here

Emergency Hotline: 0800 029 999 WhatsApp Support Line: 0600-123456
X