Appointment of interim Student structure

02 JULY 2020

About a week ago, a group of students comprising various political formations on campus approached University Management (Management) with a view of finding an interim solution regarding students’ representation within the University governance structures. The intervention by the student political formations was prompted by the resignation earlier in the year of the SRC Administrator, who had been appointed by the University Council (Council) as provided for in the SRC constitution. Management welcomed the students’ initiative and promised to put the proposal before the Council meeting that was to be held on the 25th June 2020.

Council considered and also welcomed the students’ proposal. In the circumstance, Council deemed it prudent to appoint an Interim Student Structure, in terms of Section 34 of the SRC Constitution (Policy SSD P1) and Section 64(11) of the Higher Education Act (Act 101 of 1997, as amended).

The following students were appointed as the interim Student Structure:

  1. Ndumiso Ntshangase – Convenor
  2. Wiseman Ncazelo Khumalo – Coordinator
  3. Sinenhlanhla Muzi Ntshangase
  4. Mbuso Dlamini
  5. Ndumiso Kunene
  6. Nonhlanhla Mbalenhle
  7. Ndumiso Mbongeleni Vilakazi
  8. Siphamandla Mncwango
  9. Nothile Madlala
  10. Sthabelo Ntshangase
  11. Fanelesibonge Sithebe
  12. Sakhile Mduduzi Maziya

The students mentioned above have accepted the appointment by Council with immediate effect. The interim Structure as constituted shall have full powers, duties and functions of an SRC Administrator conferred on it in accordance with the SRC Constitution.


Issued on behalf of University Management.